ARC Review: Excalibur by Anna Hackett

Cover for Excalibur by Anna Hackett

Title: Excalibur

Author: Anna Hackett

Series: Sentinel Security #5

Pages: 228

Release Date: April 27, 2023

3 stars out of 5
3 stars – I liked it

Bram “Excalibur” O’Donovan has been looking for Adaline since he came back from a mission to find her apartment empty and her phone off. Now weeks later he has found her working in a bar and apparently pregnant with his child. He is determined to take care of her, but first he has to protect her from an unknown stalker. 

This was another enjoyable Sentinel Security story. Bram has been the quiet grumpy one throughout this series so I was excited to finally get to know him. Bram was a sweet and protective man who worships Addie. I loved seeing this big grumpy man shake in fear over the thought of being a father. 

Addie was a sweet and kind woman who just wanted to find happiness. Addie also has a bit of bad luck. She was kidnapped with Saskia in The Protector and is now being stalked and harassed.  While she does have bad luck, I admire her determination to protect her child and utilizing her surroundings to her advantage. 

Since this does take place after Bram and Addie reunite, we miss seeing the beginning of their relationship and how they went from acquaintances to lovers. I would have liked to have seen some of that time together to understand why these two were so devastated when they were apart. Bram and Addie’s second chance was sweet and filled with a lot of danger. I liked that Bram worshiped Addie and went out of his way to make her feel safe. I also loved that Addie wasn’t afraid to demand what she wanted from Bram. 

Overall, this was another great Sentinel Security story. I enjoyed these two and look forward to seeing Bram being a father in future books. Also, I am excited to see Hex finally fall in love in the next one. 

Trigger Warnings: stalking; kidnapping; bomb situation; PTSD and nightmares; references to the death of mother and sister; reference to neglectful parents; 

*ARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.*

Goodreads | StoryGraph | Amazon

Previous books and reviews for the series:

  1. Wolf
  2. Hades
  3. Striker
  4. Steel

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s