ARC Review: Both Feet in the Grave by Jeaniene Frost

Cover for Both Feet in the Grave by Jeaniene Frost

Title: Both Feet in the Grave

Author: Jeaniene Frost

Series: Night Huntress #8 (technically 2.5)

Pages: 348

Release Date: April 18, 2023

4 stars out of five
4 stars – It was really good

This is Bones’ version of events from The Other Half of the Grave. The events are the same as the original book, but we are getting to see Bones’ thoughts and feelings on the events and how he reacted to their years apart. 

Like the previous book, I found myself enjoying this more than Cat’s version. Don’t get me wrong I love Cat, but there is just something about Bones’ confidence and determination that I enjoy more than Cat’s self-doubt and naivety. Also, one of my favorite things about Bones’ is that he never denies his feelings about Cat and spends a long time trying to convince her they should be together.  I love a man who isn’t afraid to admit how hard he has fallen or fight for that love.

“I’ve never stopped loving you, either”….”Not for an instant, Kitten. Even when I was so angry at you for leaving me, I still loved you, and I always will.”

Since this is a rehash of the second book, I won’t really go into details about what happens because you already know. I do really love that we are finally getting to see how hard Bones looked for Cat during their years apart and how he still protected her even after she broke his heart. Getting Bones POV has been wonderful and really enriches this series. I can’t wait to read more books from his POV.

Trigger Warnings: manipulative and verbally abusive mother; Cat is dating another guy when Bones comes back into her life; Bones attempts to have relations with another woman but stops before actual sex. 

*ARC provided by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.*

Goodreads | StoryGraph | Amazon

Previous books and reviews for the series:

#0.5 Reckoning
#1 Halfway to the Grave
#1.1 The Other Half of the Grave
#1.5 Happily Never After
#2 One Foot In The Grave
#3 At Grave’s End
#3.5 Devil to Pay
#4 Destined For An Early Grave
#4.5 One for the Money
#5 This Side of the Grave
#6 One Grave At A Time
#6.5 Home for the Holidays
#7 Up From the Grave

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s