ARC Review: Sate the Darkness by Alexandra Ivy

Cover for Sate the Darkness by Alexandra Ivy

Title: Sate the Darkness

Author: Alexandra Ivy

Series: Guardians of Eternity #20

Pages: 248

Release Date:  February 7, 2023

3 stars out of 5
3 stars – I liked it

When Levet is kidnapped by Minotaurs and taken to their labyrinth, Styx tasks Sophie and Ryshi to infiltrate the labyrinth and rescue Levet. While Sophie tries to keep her defense up around Ryshi, she quickly finds herself falling for him and his charm.

These two were a cute couple. I really liked Ryshi. Ryshi is half-jinn, half-imp and very charming and sneaky. He is in Styx’s prison because he infiltrated multiple vampire lairs and was eventually caught. I loved how Ryshi knew almost instantly that he wanted to be with Sophie and just worked to break down her barriers while they dealt with all the magical traps in the minotaur kingdom. I always love when a man falls first and hard. Ryshi was very charming but is also very good at hiding his pain. I enjoyed seeing him open up to Sophie, because it helped heal them both. 

“They call me a thief, but you’re the one who stole my heart.”

Sophie was a fascinating and badass heroine with a very deadly ability. Because of her ability she has basically hidden away from the world for fear of hurting someone. Working with Ryshi has made her realize how lonely she has become. I enjoyed watching Sophie open up to Ryshi and realize she wanted love and happiness. Their relationship was sweet because they both were trying very hard to protect each other from magical traps.

The overarching story was very interesting. The minotaur’s and their world was a new aspect of this universe that was interesting to explore. Levet as usual was fun and was for once the voice of reason. I did enjoy him putting the minotaur’s in their place. Overall, this was another enjoyable addition to this series. I am excited to see what will happen next. 

*ARC provided by Netgalley for an honest review.*

Goodreads | Amazon

Previous books and reviews for the series:

#1 When Darkness Comes
#2 Embrace the Darkness
#3 Darkness Everlasting
#4 Darkness Revealed
#5 Darkness Unleashed
#6 Beyond the Darkness
#7 Devoured by Darkness
#7.5 Taken by Darkness
#7.6 Darkness Eternal
#8 Bound by Darkness
#8.5 Where Darkness Lives
#9 Fear the Darkness
#9.5 Levet
#10 Darkness Avenged
#11 Hunt the Darkness
#11.5 A Very Levet Christmas
#12 When Darkness Ends
#13 Darkness Returns
#14 Beware the Darkness
#15 Conquer the Darkness
#16 Shades of Darkness
#17 Darkness Betrayed
#18 Bewitch the Darkness
#19 Stalk the Darkness

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s