Review: Hawkyn by Larissa Ione

Cover for Hawkyn by Larissa Ione

Title: Hawkyn

Author: Larissa Ione

Series: Demonica #16; Demonica Underworld #5

Pages: 125

4 stars out of five
4 stars – It was really good

When Hawkyn breaks the rules and rescues a victim from his serial killer Primori, he sets off a series of events that will change everything for the Memitim. 

We finally have another Memitim story! Memitium are suppose to protect their Primori but not interfere with what they do, even when they are kiling and torturing people. Hawkyn has done this successfully for over 600 years but when he catches his current serial killer Primori with a new victim he decides enough is enough. Hawkyn may be a rule breaker but all his actions are because he is trying to do the right thing, which I liked. He was extremely protective and sweet with Aurora and does everything he can to protect her. Hawkyn was a character that I grew to love the more I read about him. 

Aurora is a very unique character. She is a half-wytch and can wield some pretty powerful abilities. I found everything about her heritage and abilities fascinating and wished we had seen more of them in action. Aurora was also a very strong and capable woman. She may have panicked at times but she pushed for the truth, even when she wasn’t ready to hear it. I liked her a lot. Thiers is a forbidden romance due to the rules Heaven has imposed on the Memitim. I enjoyed the whole journey with these two. 

As for what else happens in this story, we have some relationship hiccups with Azagoth and Lillian, which I hate because they are one of my favorite couples. I hope they figure it out soon because I don’t want to see them apart for long. We also see new rules for the Memitim which will hopefully make everyone happier. 

Overall, this was a great addition to this series. A lot happens that will change the future for earthbound angels, Azagoth, and many other beings. I can’t wait to read the next few books and see how it all plays out. 

Trigger warnings: torture; kidnapping; child abuse and starvation briefly mentioned;  PTSD; violence; gore

Goodreads | Amazon

Previous books and reviews for the series:

#1. Pleasure Unbound
#2. Desire Unchained
#3. Passion Unleashed
#3.5 Eternity Embraced
#4 Ecstasy Unveiled 
#5 Sin Undone
#5.7 Overkill: Snippets of Demonica Life
#6 Eternal Rider 
#6.5 Vampire Fight Club
#7 Immortal Rider
#8 Lethal Rider
#9 Rogue Rider
#10 Reaver
#11 Azagoth
#12 Revenant
#13 Hades
#13.5 Base Instinct
#14 Z
#15 Razr

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s