ARC Review: Stalk the Darkness by Alexandra Ivy

Cover forStalk the Darkness by Alexandra Ivy

Title: Stalk the Darkness

Author: Alexandra Ivy

Series: Guardians of Eternity #19

Pages: 258

Release Date: August 2, 2022

4 stars out of five
4 stars – It was really good

Satin is determined to never be weak again. She is determined to enjoy her life, including “combat practice” with Marco, the owner of a wild and untamed club outside of Chicago. But when a chaos creating demon leaves Satin with the unexpected news she is pregnant, everything changes. 

I don’t usually love the surprise pregnancy trope but I actually enjoyed this one. I don’t know if it’s because I knew it going in or just because it’s Ivy’s writing but this was a great story. Satin is a dangerous and strong vampire who doesn’t take anyone’s shit. She has had a tragic backstory that has made her determined to stay independent and strong. She struggles to let Marco close and admit her feelings for him. She was just a great heroine and liked her from the very beginning.

Marco is an alpha werewolf who is determined to claim Satin. He was protective of Satin, but he also understood her strengths and let her fight her own battles. I loved that he didn’t railroad Satin into not fighting and appreciated her abilities. These two were a power couple once they started to work together and I do hope they pop up in future books.

The fight against this new evil was very interesting. It was a new threat that we hadn’t seen before in this series. I enjoyed it and how it expanded the paranormal creatures within this world. I also appreciated that while this is a surprise pregnancy story, it was the only focus of the story, which is probably why I enjoyed it. 

Overall, this was another wonderful couple for this series. I can’t wait to see who will fall in the next book, hopefully Troy or Olga. 

Trigger warnings: Discussions of past rape, abuse, and slavery. 

*ARC provided by Netgalley for an honest review.*

Goodreads | Amazon

Previous books and reviews for the series:

#1 When Darkness Comes
#2 Embrace the Darkness
#3 Darkness Everlasting
#4 Darkness Revealed
#5 Darkness Unleashed
#6 Beyond the Darkness
#7 Devoured by Darkness
#7.5 Taken by Darkness
#7.6 Darkness Eternal
#8 Bound by Darkness
#8.5 Where Darkness Lives
#9 Fear the Darkness
#9.5 Levet
#10 Darkness Avenged
#11 Hunt the Darkness
#11.5 A Very Levet Christmas
#12 When Darkness Ends
#13 Darkness Returns
#14 Beware the Darkness
#15 Conquer the Darkness
#16 Shades of Darkness
#17 Darkness Betrayed
#18 Bewitch the Darkness

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s