Review: Midnight Frost by Jennifer Estep

Cover for Midnight Frost by Jennifer Estep

Title: Midnight Frost

Author: Jennifer Estep

Series: Mythos Academy #5

Pages: 386

4 stars out of five
4 stars – It was really good

Gwen is finally starting to really become Nike’s Champion. She is now a pretty decent warrior and is determined to bring down Loki. She really steps up to the plate in this book and embodies what it means to be a champion. Gwen has a protective and compassionate soul, especially to animals, but she also is learning to be ruthless to survive. Gwen has really grown on me throughout this series. 

In this volume we spend time away from Mythos Academy and journey to the Denver academy, which is very similar. We learn about Gwen’s fathers family and meet some characters who will probably play an important role in the next book. Gwen is collecting artifacts and we see how they can come in handy when you least expect them to. 

Logan and Gwen’s relationship is basically done for most of this book. Logan after the previous reaper attack and seems to be determined to give up. As you can imagine, Gwen is hurt by this but also angry that he isn’t there to help. I don’t love all the drama that has been happening between these two but I was glad to see Gwen stand up for her feelings at the end of this one. It pushed Logan to reevaluate his actions and hopefully things will be better between them in the next book. 

One of the things that I am really enjoying in this series is the snarky humor that is present, especially Vic. Vic can be so snarky at times but it is just awesome. I love the idea of a talking sword. It is full of snark and blood thirsty but also just wants to sleep a lot, what’s not to love. 

Overall, this series has been surprisingly great considering I am not really a YA fan. Estep apparently can write YA that really works for me though. I probably will check out her other YA series now after this.  Now to see how the war against Loki will end.  

Goodreads | Amazon

Previous books and reviews for the series:

#0.5 First Frost
#1 Touch of Frost
#1.5 Halloween Frost
#2 Kiss of Frost
#3 Dark Frost
#4 Crimson Frost
#4.5 Spartan Frost

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s