ARC Review: Darkness Betrayed by Alexandra Ivy

Cover for Darkness Betrayed by Alexandra Ivy

Title: Darkness Betrayed

Author: Alexandra Ivy

Series: Guardians of Eternity #17

Pages: 271

4 stars out of five
4 stars – It was really good

Brigette was once the conduit for ultimate evil to reach Earth. Now, she is a lonely were living in an isolated Irish cottage, cut off from her animal and humanity. When a band of rebels approaches her to betray the king of the vampires, she tags along to try to gather information she can use to warn the king with. 

I am glad we are finally getting Bridgette’s story. While she was an evil character, you quickly realize there’s more to her than her past. While everyone may view her as an enemy, she is still determined to protect her remaining family and the world. She was a very strong woman who has been through so much. Yes, she did terrible things but she has realized that and is trying to be a better person. I really liked that she was able to redeem herself a little in this book.

Xi was an interesting vampire. He is one of Styxx’s Ravens and has the unique ability to disappear into his surroundings. This makes him the perfect partner for Bridgette while she is undercover. Xi and Bridgette have an instant attraction but they both try to push it aside while stopping the enemy. I really enjoyed their slow relationship because you could feel their intense attraction and growing feelings in every scene and look. 

These two were great characters with some intense and prolonged chemistry. The overall story was pretty great as well with a growing rebellion, attacks on lairs, and unexpected enemies. We see the return of quite a few main characters from previous books, like Viper, Troy, and of course Levet.  I can’t wait for the next book. 

*ARC provided by Netgalley for an honest review.*

Goodreads / Amazon

Previous books and reviews for the series:

#1 When Darkness Comes
#2 Embrace the Darkness
#3 Darkness Everlasting
#4 Darkness Revealed
#5 Darkness Unleashed
#6 Beyond the Darkness
#7 Devoured by Darkness
#7.5 Taken by Darkness
#7.6 Darkness Eternal
#8 Bound by Darkness
#8.5 Where Darkness Lives
#9 Fear the Darkness
#9.5 Levet
#10 Darkness Avenged
#11 Hunt the Darkness
#11.5 A Very Levet Christmas
#12 When Darkness Ends
#13 Darkness Returns
#14 Beware the Darkness
#15 Conquer the Darkness
#16 Shades of Darkness

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s