Review: Alpha Night by Nalini Singh

Alpha Night by Nalini Singh

Title:  Alpha Night

Author: Nalini Singh

Series: Psy-Changeling Trinity #3

Pages: 365

3 stars out of 5
3 stars – I liked it

Alpha wolf Selenka Durev’s is devoted to her pack. That protection has extended to the empaths who are in her city for a symposium. When those empaths come under attack she will do anything to find the culprits responsible, especially if it means teaming up with the Arrow who says he is broken. 

Selenka and Ethan’s mating bond clicks into place the instant they meet, but something isn’t quite right with that bond. This is an insta love relationship that takes place over just a few days, so if you don’t like instalove stories this might not be for you. 

Ethan is a broken Arrow who is struggling to control the power that is leashed inside him. His traumatic past has made him disconnect from the world. Mating with Selenka has reawakened the world and made him feel again. Ethan’s traumatic childhood was heartbreaking and was emotionally draining for me. I loved his character but I did feel like I went through the wringer after reading this book. 

“Then show me your jagged edges and your fractured pieces, your obsession and your need. Show me you.”

Selenka is a powerful and caring alpha. She has brought her pack to equal footing with the bears. I loved how strong she was. Ethan was a great partner for her because he understood that her pack was important and would come first sometimes. He had no experience with skin privileges, or children, yet he still tried to support and help the pack members. I liked that he was always helpful even when confused. 

Overall, I did like this story. Ethan’s emotional trauma was emotionally draining for me, which I don’t know if it’s just from my current headspace or something else, but it made it hard for me to really enjoy this couple because I was just weighed down by the past. 

Reader Warning:

  • Hero was caged all of his childhood and mentally/physically abused.

Goodreads / Amazon

Previous books in the series:

  1. Silver Silence
  2. Ocean Light
  3. Wolf Rain

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s