Review: Safe Harbor by Christine Feehan

Safe Harbor by Christine Feehan

Title:  Safe Harbor

Author: Christine Feehan

Series: Drake Sister #5

Pages: 354

2 stars out of 5
2 stars – it was ok

Hannah Drake, is one of seven magical sisters. She is a stunning supermodel who has hidden how much she hates being the center of attention and in public. After being attacked and almost dying she finds her courage to be her true self and be with the man who she has always loved. 

This series is one of the first paranormal ones I remember reading as a teenager. Feehan was one of the authors that I would devour all of her books of. Sadly, I feel this series hasn’t held up for me. I have not really enjoyed any of the books since the first two. I really expected Hannah and Jonas’s book to be one I enjoyed but sadly it didn’t. 

My biggest issue was Jonas. In previous books he constantly insulted Hannah about her job, her looks, and called her a Barbie all the time. I wasn’t happy with him starting this book but I figured he would change. Jonas is like the childhood bully who is taunting and picking on you because they are secretly hiding their crush. I hated him. His constant negativity about her career made me very uncomfortable. He says it’s because he sees the real Hannah and knows that she hates showing herself off and that’s why he does it but that doesn’t mean he has to be an asshole. His whole character just came across as controlling and made me think of an unhealthy relationship that becomes abusive. 

Hannah was just ok. She was very shallow about her looks and constantly waffling between being with Jonas and running from everything. I didn’t love her. My biggest issue is that she has an eating disorder from her model career and it is barely discussed. It was like after the attack on her she got better and no longer had an eating disorder. That’s not how it works. 

As you can tell, I didn’t love this book like I used to. I ended up skimming a lot of the book because I just couldn’t deal with these two. The only scenes I really liked were the house going into defensive mode and the action at the end. I loved the idea of a house protecting its residents.

 I won’t be continuing my reread of this series. I just can’t do it anymore. This is not the same series I remember and I don’t know if it’s because the writing hasn’t aged well or if its me. But whatever it is, I am done with this series. I will continue reading her new books though. 

Reader Warnings:

  • Heroine has an eating disorder created by her modeling career.

Goodreads / Amazon

Previous books in the series:

  1. Magic in the Wind
  2. The Twilight Before Christmas
  3. Oceans of Fire
  4. Dangerous Tides

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s