Review: Oceans of Fire by Christine Feehan

Title:  Oceans of Fire

Author: Christine Feehan

Series: Drake Sisters #3

Genre: Paranormal

Format: eBook

Pages: 384

Date Read: 2011, 2012, 2013, August 12, 2020

2.5 stars
2.5 stars

Abigail is the third daughter of the Drake bloodline. She has the ability for water and possesses a strong bond with dolphins. She has spent her life studying them. But while she is studying the dolphins off the cost of Sea Haven she witness a murder and Interpol agent Alexsandr Volstov steps back into her life. 

I remember loving this series when I read it years ago. I read it a lot because of that. So I am surprised that I am finding that I am not enjoying this series as much as I used to. I don’t think they have aged as well as other books. That said, this still wasn’t a terrible book. I did enjoy aspects of it. 

Abigail and Alexander met four years ago in Russia and fell in love. A terrible event occurs though and Abigail is deported from Russia because of it. Since then her love for Alexander has turned to hurt and anger. I didn’t love Abigail. She was constantly avoiding important conversations and basically acting like a coward. It felt very childish and made me not really enjoy her character. When it came to the action parts she was fine but any time it was just her and Alexander I got annoyed by her attitude.

Alexander was a protective alpha male who is determined to do anything to get Abigail back. I actually liked his character but we don’t get as much of his POV as we do Abbys, which I think is why I didn’t enjoy this book as much. 

I enjoyed the action scenes the most in this book I think. We just get a small hint at how deadly Alexander can be though which was a little disappointing. I do hope we see more of his abilities in future books. The character who really made this book interesting though was Ilya Prakenskii. I can’t wait to get his story. So while I didn’t love this book, I will be continuing my reread of the series and hope it gets better.

Goodreads / Amazon

Previous books in the series:

  1. Magic in the Wind
  2. The Twilight Before Christmas

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s