Review: Buried Lies by Kaylea Cross

Buried Lies by Kaylea Cross

Title: Buried Lies

Author: Kaylea Cross

Series: Crimson Point #2

5 out of 5 stars
5 stars – I loved it!

Poppy Larsen has moved to Crimson Point to start a new life away from her judgmental hometown. She has opened a bookshop and is slowly remodeling her new home. What she doesn’t expect is to be attracted to her sexy sheriff neighbor Noah Buchanan. While she trusts Noah it’s going to take a while before she can trust any man again.

I loved this book. Poppy was so amazing, and strong. I totally have a girl crush on her. She opened her own bookstore/bakery and is remodeling her own home. Her past was filled with bullying and rumors that trashed her reputation. She is very reluctant to trust anyone, especially a man, and she is terrified that her past will follow her to Crimson Point. Poppy is hardworking, strong, and very sweet. She was perfect, especially for Noah. She was resilient against the bullies growing up and she was resilient against the trauma of surviving a serial killer.  

As the sheriff of Crimson Point, Noah is very strong, protective, and masculine.  What I really loved about him though was that he wasn’t afraid to show a softer side with others, especially Poppy. He was genuine and truly cared about the people in his community. 

Noah and Poppy had a slow building relationship with lots of chemistry. I loved their relationship and how they worked through their trust issues. There is also development in the side characters relationships for a future book, which will most likely be very emotional. 

The suspense portion of this book was very good. The serial killer was interesting and unassuming. I find his way of killing disturbing and terrifying because I feel that is a lot of people’s fear. I do enjoy how Cross deals with the mental and emotional trauma of the experience. She does a really good job with portraying mental illness and emotional trauma. I really wonder how this series will continue and how the characters will be affected.

Goodreads/ Amazon

Previous books in the series:

  1. Fractured Honor

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s